Pentatonic Scales



Source code


Emeği Geçenler

Autor of this exhibit: Jürgen Richter-Gebert (Technical University Munich). Sound engine: Patrick Wilson and Aaron Montag. Based on

Katkıda Bulunanlar

Move through the “Space of Pentatonic Scales” and create your own impressionistic style music by playing pieces by classical composers with only five notes.

Pentatonic scales are selections of five out of the twelve notes in our tonal system, with the restriction that no two neighbouring notes are selected. Under these conditions, there are exactly 36 pentatonic scales, that we can explore on this exhibit.

In the exhibit, a piece of classical music can be selected for playing. But the piece is transformed so that each note on the score is changed with the closest one in the selected pentatonic scale.

Ana Dosya